Your Trusted PLC & DCS Supplier!
100% Original, Ready to Ship!



ABB Names New Business Area Presidents



ABB today announced the appointment of Giampiero Frisio as the new President of its Electrification Business Area and Brandon Spencer as the new President of its Motion Business Area. Both will take over their new roles and join ABB’s Executive Committee on August 1, 2024.

ABB CEO Björn Rosengren said: “Both Giampiero and Brandon are proven leaders with strong track records in their current roles driving profitable growth in two of our largest Divisions. I am particularly happy that we are appointing internal candidates – this shows the strength of ABB’s pool of senior leaders. I am confident that they will build on the strong performance achieved in Electrification and Motion over the past years.”

Morten Wierod, CEO designate, added: “I am excited to work with Giampiero and Brandon also in their new roles when I take over as ABB CEO later this year. With them we will continue to have a strong Executive Committee that will drive ABB’s financial and sustainability performance.”

Giampiero Frisio, Business Area President Electrification:

Giampiero Frisio, currently Division President Smart Power, was appointed Business Area President Electrification. Frisio, Division President Smart Power (Electrification Business Area) since 2018, will succeed Morten Wierod who, as announced previously, will become ABB’s new CEO as of August 1, 2024. Giampiero joined ABB in 1995 and has held numerous managerial positions in roles ranging from operations to marketing and sales. From January 2011 to November 2018, he was the Managing Director for Protection and Connection Business Unit, Electrification Products. He holds a Master’s degree in Electrical Engineering from Pavia University in Italy. Giampiero is an Italian citizen.

Brandon Spencer, Business Area President Motion:

Brandon Spencer, currently Division President Energy Industries, was appointed Business Area President Motion. Spencer, Division President Energy Industries (Process Automation Business Area) since 2020, will succeed Tarak Mehta, who as announced previously, will leave ABB to assume the role of CEO of Timken Group after more than 25 years with ABB. Brandon joined ABB in 2006 and has held a range of leadership roles with a focus on the energy sector. Between 2018 and 2020, he was Global Managing Director for ABB Process Industries. Prior to joining ABB, Brandon held various roles at Siemens Power Generation. He holds a bachelor’s degree in Economics and a Masters’ degree in Business Administration from the Crummer School of Business at Rollins College in Winter Park, Florida. Brandon is a US citizen.

As of August 1, 2024, ABB’s Executive Committee will consist of: Morten Wierod (Chief Executive Officer), Timo Ihamuotila (Chief Financial Officer), Carolina Granat (Chief Human Resources Officer), Karin Lepasoon (Chief Communications and Sustainability Officer), Giampiero Frisio (President, Electrification), Peter Terwiesch (President, Process Automation), Brandon Spencer (President, Motion), and Sami Atiya (President, Robotics & Discrete Automation). In addition, Mathias Gaertner will join the Executive Committee latest on October 1, 2024, as General Counsel and Company Secretary.

ABB is a technology leader in electrification and automation, enabling a more sustainable and resource-efficient future. The company’s solutions connect engineering know-how and software to optimize how things are manufactured, moved, powered, and operated. Building on over 140 years of excellence, ABB’s more than 105,000 employees are committed to driving innovations that accelerate industrial transformation.

Recommended ABB Products in 6G Controls.

Manufacturer Model Link
ABB PM851 link
ABB TP830 link
ABB CMA 132 3DDE300412 link
ABB DO880 link
ABB 07AC91 link
ABB 07KT97 link
ABB PM861AK01 link
ABB PM864AK01 link
ABB 07KT94 link
ABB 07KT95 link
ABB 07CR41 link
ABB 07DI92 link
ABB 07KP90 link
ABB CI854AK01 link
ABB CI858AK01 link



Leave a Reply

Leave a message